What does the end of grief look like?

Grief is a journey, and understanding its different stages can help us cope with the reality of our loss. From shock and denial to acceptance, the Kübler-Ross model guides us through the complex emotional terrain of mourning a loved one. In this blog, we'll explore the stages of grief, the mental health aspects of the grieving process, and how to ultimately learn to live with acceptance.
By illume Editorial Team
Last updated: Oct 12, 2023
3 min read
What Does the End of Grief Look Like?

The death of a loved one is a profound and often overwhelming experience. When you’re faced with the reality of your loss, it can feel like the ground beneath you has shifted, leaving you in a state of shock and denial. Grief is a natural response to such a life-altering event, and it’s a process that unfolds in distinct stages. These stages, as first outlined by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her book “On Death and Dying,” include denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Understanding the grief journey and what the end of grief looks like is crucial for one’s mental health and healing.

The Kübler-Ross Model: A Roadmap Through Grief

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, a Swiss-American psychiatrist renowned for her work in the field of death and dying, introduced the Kübler-Ross model to help individuals navigate the complex emotional terrain that follows the death of a loved one. This model identifies five distinct stages of grief, offering a framework that allows us to comprehend the grieving process, even though not everyone experiences these stages in the same order or with the same intensity.

1. Shock and Denial

In the initial stage of grief, it’s common to feel an overwhelming sense of shock and disbelief. The reality of your loss may not have fully sunk in, and it can be a perplexing and isolating experience. This stage serves as a protective buffer, allowing you to gradually come to terms with the painful truth of the death. It’s a time when your mind seeks refuge from the harshness of the situation, offering a respite from the immediate emotional onslaught.

2. Anger

As you begin to accept the loss, feelings of anger can emerge. It’s entirely natural to direct your anger at various targets, including the universe, fate, or even the person who has passed away. These emotions are a vital part of the healing process and should be acknowledged and expressed. Anger often serves as a means of processing the immense emotional turmoil and injustice that can accompany grief. It signifies that you’re moving through the stages of grief, even if it might feel turbulent and chaotic.

3. Bargaining

The bargaining stage takes you on a different emotional journey. Here, individuals may find themselves attempting to strike deals with a higher power, pleading for the impossible: a return to the past, a reversal of the loss. This is a manifestation of the deep longing to turn back time and prevent the death from occurring. The bargaining stage reveals the profound desire for things to return to the way they were before the tragedy struck, showcasing the power of the human spirit’s refusal to accept the finality of death.

4. Depression

Depression during the grieving process is marked by a deep and profound sadness that can feel all-encompassing. It’s important to recognize that this is a natural and necessary part of mourning. The weight of sadness, loss, and longing can be immense, and it’s okay to seek help. This is a stage where professional support may be essential, especially if the depression becomes severe and interferes with your daily life. A therapist or counsellor can provide tools to manage these emotions and help you navigate the stages of grief more effectively, prioritising your mental health during this challenging period.

5. Acceptance

Acceptance is the final stage of the Kübler-Ross model. It’s when you come to terms with the reality of your loss and learn to live with it. It doesn’t imply that you’ll forget your loved one or the impact they had on your life. Instead, it signifies a shift toward healing and adaptation. Acceptance is a transformative stage where you integrate the memory of your loved one into your life in a way that allows you to move forward while still cherishing their legacy. It’s about finding a new normal, acknowledging the permanence of the loss, and, in time, finding ways to honour the past while embracing the future. Acceptance marks the end of the intense, initial grief and the beginning of a different, more manageable form of mourning, where healing and living with the loss become more attainable.


Mental Health and the Grieving Process

Throughout the stages of grief, it’s essential to focus on your mental health. Grief can bring a wide range of emotions, from feeling angry and confused to experiencing depression and sadness. It’s okay to feel overwhelmed during this time. In fact, experiencing these emotions is a natural part of the process. However, if these emotions persist and interfere with your daily life, seeking professional help is crucial. Mental health professionals can provide support and guidance to help you cope with your loss and regain a sense of normalcy.

Learning to Live with Acceptance

Reaching the acceptance stage doesn’t mean that you’ve “moved on” or forgotten about your loved one. It means you’ve integrated the reality of their loss into your life. You’ve learned to live with the absence, and you’ve found a way to honour their memory while moving forward.

Here are some essential steps to help you learn to live with acceptance:

1. Honour Your Loved One: Find meaningful ways to commemorate and remember the person you’ve lost. This can include creating a memorial, participating in activities they enjoyed, or simply cherishing the memories you shared.

2. Support Network: Surround yourself with friends and family who can provide emotional support. Grief can be a lonely journey, but having a strong support system can make a significant difference in your healing process.

3. Self-Care: Prioritise self-care, both physically and emotionally. Take time for yourself, engage in activities that bring you joy, and be patient with your healing process.

4. Professional Help: Don’t hesitate to seek professional help if your grief becomes overwhelming. A therapist or counsellor can provide tools to manage your emotions and navigate the stages of grief effectively.

The End of Grief: A Personal Journey

Every individual experiences grief differently. Your journey through the stages of grief is unique to you. Remember that grief is a natural response to the death of a loved one, and it’s a process that takes time and patience.

The reality of your loss may feel unbearable at times, and you might wonder if you’ll ever reach the acceptance stage. But, with time, self-compassion, and the support of others, you can find a way to live with acceptance. Grief is not a one-size-fits-all experience, and the end of grief will look different for everyone.

In conclusion, the end of grief is not about erasing the memory of your loved one; it’s about finding a way to move forward while honouring their legacy. The Kübler-Ross model provides a roadmap through the stages of grief, helping you understand your emotions and navigate the complexities of mourning. Your mental health is paramount during this journey, and seeking professional support when needed is a sign of strength, not weakness. The end of grief is a personal journey, and it’s one that, with time, can lead to a place of acceptance and healing.